The Tourist information in Suomenlinna is open all year round and is located at the pink Jetty Barracks building right by the HSL ferry quay. The Tourist information provides visitors with tips for the visit and gives information on the services available and events taking place at Suomenlinna. There is also a free Suomenlinna brochure available in nine languages (Finnish, Swedish, English, Russian, German, French, Spanish, Japanese and Chinese) at the Suomenlinna Tourist information. A free introductory exhibition provides the visitor with good background information about the fortress.
Suomenlinna Centre is located in a central place on the islands of the Suomenlinna Sea Fortress.
Harakka is located between the islands of Särkkä and Uunisaari by the Kaivopuisto park. The previously closed island, which had been in use by the Finnish Defence Forces, was opened to the public in 1989 and is now a popular recreational area. Harakka island offers a unique excursion destination, studios for artist and artisans, experiences in the form of art and nature exhibitions as well as meeting facilities.
The Nature House of the City of Helsinki is also located on the island. It offers visitors encounters with nature, activities, and information on the Baltic Sea, maritime nature and sustainable living.
There is a kilometer-long nature trail on the island. A mobile route map on the nature trail can also be found on the internet (citynature.eu/en/location/harakka-2/)
The connection ferry in summertime departs from Kaivopuisto park, from the Ullanlinna pier, next to Café Ursula.
Särkkä is a small island outside Kaivopuisto park, northwest of Länsi-Mustasaari. Särkkä is part of Suomenlinna, and a part of the Suomenlinna fortress is also located here. Särkkä was built to defend one of the passages to Helsinki, the Särkänsalmi narrow. The construction began in 1749, and the first part of the fortress was ready already in the 1750's.
The island is 250m wide, and is located approx. 500m outside the mainland, outside the shore of Kaivopuisto park. Särkkä is nowadays being used by the yacht club Merenkävijät ry. There's also a summer restaurant, the restaurant Särkänlinna.
A connection boat runs in summer from the Ullanlinna pier, next to the Café Ursula in Kaivopuisto park.
The public sauna on Lonna island pays homage to the traditional sauna culture. The log-built cabin has saunas with lofts for both men and women. Saunas are heated by large wood-burning stoves. Sauna times are set by the hour - 12 new guests can enter both saunas every hour. The bathing time is two hours. There is a large terrace next to the sauna where one can cool off while enjoying great views of the surrounding islands.
Mixed sauna days are Tuesday and Friday.
Booking in advance is recommended.
Ceramic studio at Suomenlinna fortress island.
Café Samovarbar is a café at the Toy Museum. Open everyday during the Summer, and Christmas.
Bastion Bistro is a cozy, atmospheric restaurant in a 1892-built old garrison building. The Bastion Bistro offers bistro food as well as Finnish craft beers and organic wines, open year-round right by the Suomenlinna main ferry terminal.
The island of Vallisaari between Santahamina and Suomenlinna opened up to the public in May 2016.
The Customs Museum is located in the building Curtain Hamilton-Polhem in Susisaari, at the Suomenlinna fortress island. The museum has three exhibition rooms displaying the development of customs clearance methods, the prevention of smuggling and the history of Finnish Customs from the Swedish reign to the present. There is also an annually changing thematic exhibition. Information material on customs matters is also available at the museum.