Ceramic studio at Suomenlinna fortress island.
Café Samovarbar is a café at the Toy Museum. Open everyday during the Summer, and Christmas.
Bastion Bistro is a cozy, atmospheric restaurant in a 1892-built old garrison building. The Bastion Bistro offers bistro food as well as Finnish craft beers and organic wines, open year-round right by the Suomenlinna main ferry terminal.
The island of Vallisaari between Santahamina and Suomenlinna opened up to the public in May 2016.
The Customs Museum is located in the building Curtain Hamilton-Polhem in Susisaari, at the Suomenlinna fortress island. The museum has three exhibition rooms displaying the development of customs clearance methods, the prevention of smuggling and the history of Finnish Customs from the Swedish reign to the present. There is also an annually changing thematic exhibition. Information material on customs matters is also available at the museum.
Suomenlinna sea fortress is a Unesco World Heritage Site located on the coast of Helsinki, and also a suburb of Helsinki with around 800 residents.
We are proud to present to you a private collection of old toys, dating from the 1830’s until the collapse of the Soviet Union.
Plastered grey, the Suomenlinna church is one of the oldest shrines in Helsinki. It greets those arriving from the sea by transmitting the H code with its Gustavian style tower, to indicate Helsinki. The onion domed church, originally built as an orthodox garrison church, was converted into a Lutheran church in the 1920s when the country had become independent. A lighthouse serving ship and air traffic still operates in the church tower.
Suomenlinna Museum, located in the Suomenlinna Centre, showcases the eventful history of the sea fortress from the 18th century to the present day. It also depicts the restauration process of the fortress that is part of the history of three different countries - Sweden, Russia and Finland - and a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1991. The wide-screen presentation "Suomenlinna Experience" offers the visitors an excursion to the fascinating history of Suomenlinna. The wide-screen presentation is shown in the museum every 30 minutes during the museum's opening hours. Last presentation an hour before closing time.
Vesikko is a restored Finnish submarine from the 1930s and 1940s.